Before getting started with your research, it's good to get the know some best practices for navigating library resources.
This self-paced tutorial should take you fifteen {15} to twenty {20} minutes, and it will cover:
Our tutorial will have a split screen: on the left, there will be instructions and explanations as well as some questions for you to answer; the right side of our screen will include web pages and other content for you to navigate.
We recommend that you view this tutorial through a desktop/laptop computer, not a mobile device (tablets and smartphones). If your monitor view is zoomed in, the website display will narrow to a mobile view and you will have to scroll more.
Once you have completed the tutorial, you will receive confirmation when you submit the final page and receive your certificate of completion. Please forward a copy of your certificate to your professor.
Background information identifies and describes the history and nature of a research problem. Although background information is not the main focus of the paper, sufficient background information helps you determine if you have a basic understanding of the research problem being investigated. It may also add to the overall quality of your analysis and findings.
Try using for following stream of search terms, or some variation, within the databases listed below:
Credo Reference - Great source for background information when beginning your research.
Gale Power Search - Full list of Gale databases allows you to search across all or selected databases. Be sure to select the box to search all the databases.
The databases below will help you to find facts, evidence, and data about diversity in the workplace. Be sure to use quotations around concepts that are more than one word, like "board members." Try using the same search terms we used earlier, or some variation, within these new databases to find supporting evidence on your topic.
You can also search across most of our databases at one time using OneSearch.
Here is a 1-minute video of a sample search to illustrate how to use keyword and refine your results in OneSearch..
If you are having problems accessing the databases, checkout our FAQs for help.
Listed below are reputable websites that have background information on your topic. Try using some of the same search terms or similar variations.
Biznar - Allows the user to Search across multiple business-related search engines at one.
CEO Express - Provides links to hundreds of websites useful to managers and executives.
Edgar Company Search - Find the SEC report for any company or mutual fund, dating back to 1993. The full text of all reports for the last two years may be searched at once. You can also find company annual stockholder reports.
Library of Congress Business References Services: Internet Resources - Hundreds of links to valuable websites recommended by the Business Reference Service of the Library of Congress.
Manta - Basic information about companies, particularly small businesses. Information includes contact information, including address, phone number, website, social media, as well as financial information including revenue and number of employees.
