LibGuides: Gender Studies & Sexuality: Recommended Websites

Evaluating Websites

When evaluating a website ask yourself the following questions:

Is the author an authority or expert on the topic?

Does the author have an agenda? Are they trying to sell a product or advocate a position?

Does the author back up their argument with evidence?

Is the information current?

20 Must Read Queer Theory Books
Recommendations and descriptions for 20 top Queer Theory books.
American Men's Studies Association
Links to resources, journals, and magazines related to topics of masculinity.
Discovering American Women's History Online
This database provides access to digital collections of primary sources (photos, letters, diaries, artifacts, etc.) that document the history of women in the United States. These diverse collections range from Ancestral Pueblo pottery to interviews with women engineers from the 1970s.
GLAD (GLBTQ Legal Advocates & Defenders)
GLAD works to legally support the LGBTQ community's rights.
International Center for Research on Women
ICRW works with local, national, and international partners to conduct original research addressing the most pressing issues facing women and girls today.
LGBTQ Archives
Open access encyclopedia of gay, lesbian, bisexual, transgender, and queer culture and history. Website is no longer updated.
LGBTQIA Resource Center Glossary
Provides definitions to a variety of LGBTQIA-related words.
National American Woman Suffrage Association Collection
The collection consists of a variety of materials including newspapers, books, pamphlets, memorials, scrapbooks, and proceedings from the meetings of various women's organizations that document the suffrage fight.
Trans & Gender Identity
From the Trevor Project, provides basic information about gender expression, identity, and presentation.