LibGuides: Writing & Composition: Articles & Databases

Magazines vs. Journals

Pierce librarians' offer excellent definitions and more in their Magazines vs. Journals subject guide. Some videos may also help. See below:

NOTE: To see captions, start the video, then click the CC button at the bottom right, or click Transcript.

A short video that explains what the peer review process is, and why peer reviewed articles are considered credible, valuable sources.

NOTE: To see captions, start the video, then click the CC button at the bottom right, or click Transcript.

Find Useful Articles Using EBSCO Databases
(pdf; Alternate formats available on request).
24 databases, including:

ACADEMIC SEARCH COMPLETE: Complete articles (full text) from 8500 magazines and journals on a variety of topics (1887-present);
BUSINESS SOURCE COMPLETE: Articles from 1200 scholarly journals and other materials in management, marketing, etc. (1886 - present);
ERIC: Over 1.3 million listings + 323,000 full-text education items (1966-present);
PsycARTICLES: Articles from U.S. and Canadian psychology journals (1894-present).
including psychological aspects of medicine, nursing, sociology, education, technology, anthropology, business, law, and more.
Find Useful Articles Using Gale Databases
(pdf; Alternate formats available on request).
Find useful articles using JSTOR
(pdf; Alternate formats available on request).
Complete articles for major journals in most disciplines, except for the latest 1 to 10 years, for some journals. Note: JSTOR is NOT a good starting point for current events or recent scientific developments.
Find Useful Articles Using ProQuest Databases
(pdf; Alternate formats available on request.)
Databases include:

CRIMINAL JUSTICE PERIODICALS: Articles from over 100 U.S. and international criminal justice journals (1981-present);
PROQUEST U.S. MAJOR DAILIES: Articles covering local and regional news from five major national and regional newspapers (1980-present)