Anti-Racism: a Learning Guide

The Dictionary provides the historical background and etymology of a wide range of words related to these concepts, looking at discourses of race, ethnicity and culture from a broadly multicultural perspective. The editors have brought together a group of internationally prominent academics and practitioners to produce this definite reference and research tool. Contributors include anthropologists, biologists, lawyers, philosophers, sociologists and psychologists, enabling the Dictionary to bring an interdisciplinary approach to the subject matter, and a rich variety of voice and content that would otherwise be absent. The Dictionary of Race, Ethnicity and Culture will provide a valuable tool for scholars, students, professionals and policy makers. It will help undergraduate and graduate students to use conceptual material effectively to write better essays, and will be an essential source of reference in the professional fields, particularly for social workers and teachers.

Situating the study of race and ethnicity within its historical and intellectual context, this much needed guide exposes students to the broad diversity of scholarship within the field. It provides a clear and succinct explanation of more than 70 key terms, their conceptual evolution over time, and the differing ways in which the concepts are deployed or remain pertinent in current debates. Concepts covered include: apartheid colonialism constructivism critical race theory eugenics hybridity Islamophobia new/modern racism reparations transnationalism. Fully cross-referenced and with suggestions for further reading, Race and Ethnicity: The Key Concepts is an ideal resource for undergraduate and postgraduate students of race, ethnicity, and nationalism.

The Routledge Companion to Race and Ethnicity is a comprehensive guide to the increasingly relevant, broad and ever changing terrain of studies surrounding race and ethnicity. Comprising a series of essays and a critical dictionary of key names and terms written by respected scholars from a range of academic disciplines, this book provides a thought provoking introduction to the field, and covers: The history and relationship between "race" and ethnicity The impact of colonialism and post colonialism Emerging concepts of "whiteness" Changing political and social implications of race Race and ethnicity as components of identity The interrelatedness and intersectionality of race and ethnicity with gender and sexual orientation Globalization, media, popular culture and their links with race and ethnicity Fully cross referenced throughout, with suggestions for further reading and international examples, this book is indispensible reading for all those studying issues of race and ethnicity across the humanities and social and political sciences.